Wednesday, March 8, 2017

The Bone Witch is Live!

The Bone Witch
by Rin Chupeco
Publication Date: March 7, 2017
In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha―one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!





T h e W o r l d o f T h e B o n e W i t c h : T h e E i g h t K i n g d o m s

I S T E R A 
The coldest among the eight kingdoms
Has gone to war with Tresea over the Heartsbane Islands in the past, and still shares some animosity
Separated from Tresea by the River of Peace
C A P I T A L : Farsun
C U R R E N T R U L E R : King Rendorvik of House Petralta

T R E S E A
Comprised of mostly dense woods
and wide plains
Population is concentrated mainly in cities, with small
scatterings of villages throughout 
C A P I T A L : Highgaard
C U R R E N T R U L E R : Czar Kamulus of
House Ambersturg

D A A N O R I S
Mild to moderate weather, most populated kingdom
C A P I T A L : Santiang
C U R R E N T R U L E R : Emperor Shifang

Y A D O S H A C I T Y - S T A T E S
The whole continent was originally the kingdom of Yadosha, but infighting among the royal descendants soon splintered it into several warring states and shrunk their dominion into only its upper continent
While each city-state maintains a high degree of independence, all share one main government to foster ties and maintain diplomatic missions
Each city-state has a Second Minister to govern them; every seven years, a First Minister is elected among the Second Ministers to represent Yadosha as a whole
C A P I T A L : None
C U R R E N T R U L E R : First Minister Stefan

K I O N
Once a part of Yadosha; many kingdoms have conquered and fought over this land, before Kion was able to achieve its independence through Vernasha of the Roses, a legendary asha
A melting pot of culture, and main headquarters of the asha
Smallest land among the kingdoms
C A P I T A L : Ankyo
C U R R E N T R U L E R : Empress Alyx of House Imperial

O D A L I A
Comprised of plains and forests
Originally a part of the kingdom of Yadosha, but was the first in the continent to rebel and break off into its own kingdom
C A P I T A L : Kneave
C U R R E N T R U L E R : King Telemaine
of House Odalia

A R H E N - K O S H O
Large group of islands on the Swiftsea, near Odalia and Kion
C A P I T A L : Hottenheim
C U R R E N T R U L E R : Queen Lynoria
of House Imperial

D R Y C H T
Desert kingdom
Also notable for their austere and extreme perspecteve generally held in contempt by most of the other kingdoms, but tolerated for the runeberry cloth they provide
Only the western continent of Drycht is heavily populated; 
the majority of the kingdom is made of sand
C A P I T A L : Adra-al
C U R R E N T R U L E R : King Aadil of the Tavronoo clan


An Amazon Best Book of the Month!
A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017!

"Mesmerizing. Chupeco (The Suffering) does a magnificent job of balancing an intimate narrative perspective with sweeping worldbuilding, crafting her tale within a multicultural melting pot of influences as she presses toward a powerful cliffhanger." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Readers who enjoy immersing themselves in detail will revel in Chupeco's finely wrought tale. Game of Thrones fans may see shades of Daenerys Targaryen in Tea, as she gathers a daeva army to unleash upon the world. Whether she is in the right remains a question unanswered, but the ending makes it clear her story is only beginning." - Booklist

"Chupeco craftily weaves magic, intrigue, and mystery into a captivating tale that will leave readers begging for the promised sequel." - School Library Journal

"The Bone Witch is a fantasy lover's fantasy, with a rich history and hierarchy of its own. The secrets and workings of its magic are revealed slowly in a suspenseful novel that is sure to appeal to those with a love of serious, dark fairytales." - Foreword Reviews

"Fans of high fantasy looking for diverse representation will be eager to get their hands on this book...this will become a series to be reckoned with." - School Library Connection

"Readers intrigued by the carefully crafted magic and the evolution of Tea's character from a homesick, guilt-ridden girl into the fierce warrior who opens the tale will discover a multi-faceted drama of revenge and heartbreak." - RT Book Reviews

"A high-fantasy Memoirs of a Geisha, Chupeco's latest excels in originality... Chupeco is a writer to watch." - Kirkus

"An adventure with light romance that will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas." - VOYA Magazine

"In this sweeping high fantasy, Chupeco concocts a grim world of magic, both light and dark" - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Rin Chupeco already captivated and horrified us with The Girl from the Well, but she may have outdone herself on this one. The Bone Witch is the first in a new series about a young witch who realizes she has the dark gift of necromancy after she accidentally raises her brother from the dead. Now, an older bone witch has taken Tea under her wing to teach her the art. The story has been pitched as high fantasy meets Memoirs of a Geisha, so yes, you need your hands on it now." - Bustle.com

# T h e B o n e W i t c h

Rin Chupeco
Despite an unsettling resemblance to Japanese revenants, Rin always maintains her sense of hummus. Born and raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. 

She is represented by Rebecca Podos of the Helen Rees Agency.

Sign up at her newsletter to receive updates on new books, author events, and giveaways! 

@rinchupeco

1 comment: